The Jordan Language Academy

8 Dec

Originally posted on14th November, 2012

For the past nine weeks, this has been where I study, at the Jordan Language Academy, located in the 7th circle, Amman.

The website states that the JLA offers “immersive Arabic language training programmes” and this statement is, for the most part, true. Since starting at JLA I feel that my Arabic has improved ten-fold. Compared to our other education option for Jordan (the University), the language academy was touted as offering much better one to one contact with native arabic speakers.

The classes are split into four types of arabic language classes, each class is two hours long:

Bookwork

This lesson focuses mainly on reading comprehension and grammar, with a little speaking practice to boot. It is our most frequent lesson, once a day, four days a week.

Modern Standard Arabic Speaking

Modern Standard Arabic (MSA) is the standard style of Arabic taught all around the world. In this lesson, we are provided with a list of questions for answering, debate and discussion. Thus far, the challenging topics have ranged from what our future plans are (I have no idea what I’ll be doing tomorrow, let alone in five years), our opinions on the idea of a worldwide smoking ban, and our hobbies. These lessons really raise some interesting issues amongst students and the teachers alike.

Local Dialect (Aamiyah)

Similar to the MSA classes, this class teaches us about the local dialect of Jordan – the sort of words that you would most commonly hear used in the street. This class has been extremely useful in providing us with a good knowledge of what to say to taxi drivers, market stall owners and other various people that one encounters in day to day life.

Media

One of the most difficult classes, media focuses on (as you may have guessed) media! We read newspaper articles and critically analyse satirical comic strips, all in Arabic.

Overall impressions

Nine weeks in with only a handful of weeks to go, I believe that the Jordan Language Academy has provided an extremely high quality service. I was placed in a group specific to my language ability (advanced), we had to sign a pledge indicating that we would pay 10p every time we were caught speaking English instead of Arabic and there are several lists, as pictured, that aid us if we forget any words.

Overall, I have really seen a huge difference in my Arabic language ability thanks to this outstanding institution!

The pictures mentioned within this article will be uploaded within the funky photos section of this blog

6 Responses to “The Jordan Language Academy”

  1. Tasneem December 9, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    How long have you been studying Arabic? Ive lived in the Middle East for a long time and Im even married to a Palestinian but I haven’t learnt it yet. I need to start eventually. Maybe I’ll look at that place and see if I’m up to it.

    • jamjar1992 December 9, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

      About two and a half years as half of my degree, it’s a tough language but really worth it now I’m here speaking it and reading it everywhere I go.

      I would highly recommend the language academy, you get very good teaching in small classes, especially at beginner level.

      • Tasneem December 9, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

        Sounds great. Are the professors from Jordan?

      • jamjar1992 December 9, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

        There’s a mix, most are Jordanian but I think there’s one that is Palestinian, they’re all native Arabic speakers.

  2. Tasneem December 9, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    Oh and what about writing? I can read and write since I’m muslim and Ive learnt that as a kid, even though I don’t understand what I’m reading lol. Do you find writing in Arabic difficult?

    • jamjar1992 December 9, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

      I don’t anymore no, it’s quite easy as we learnt to write at Uni ver early on, within about two weeks.

      They cover everything there depending on your ability – reading, writing, speaking and listening.

Leave a Reply

